Skip to main content

Agenda

Partnering to Transform Food Systems Globally

October 13, 2020 | 8-10:15am EST/2-4:15pm CET 

Download the Agenda

8:00-8:10am (EST)
2:00-2:10pm (CET)
 
Welcome & Event Overview

Event Host/Moderator: Femi Oke, International Journalist & Presenter

Opening Remarks by Dr. Gerd Müller, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany

Video: Farmers at the Forefront

8:10-8:30am (EST)
2:10-2:30pm (CET)
 
Global Situation – Leveraging Partnerships to Address the Current Crises Threatening SDG2 Brief presentations by: 
  • Dr. Maximo Torero, Chief Economist, Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)
  • Jaron Porciello, Co-director, Ceres2030
  • Dave Prescott, Creative Director, The Partnering Initiative
8:25-9:15am (EST)
2:25-3:15pm (CET)
 
 

Panel Discussion and Q&A

  • Dr. Agnes Kalibata, UN Special Envoy for the 2021 Food Systems Summit
  • Dr. Claudia Sadoff, Managing Director, Research Delivery and Impact, CGIAR System Organization
  • Ibrahima Coulibaly, President, Network of Farmers' and Agricultural Producers' Organisations of West Africa (ROPPA)
  • Gilbert Houngbo, President, International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) 

Moderator: Femi Oke

9:15-9:20am (EST)
3:15-3:20pm (CET)
 
Launch of GAFSP’s Replenishment Period

Remarks by Martien van Nieuwkoop, Global Director, Agriculture and Food Global Practice, World Bank

Video: GAFSP: A Partnership for Food Security

9:20-9:35am (EST)
3:20-3:35pm (CET)
 

Remarks by Dr. Natasha Hayward, Program Head, GAFSP

GAFSP Stakeholder Testimonials: How has GAFSP made a difference?

9:35-9:50am (EST)
3:35-3:50pm (CET)
 

Conversation between the Moderator and:

  • Honorable Jeanine Cooper, Minister of Agriculture, Liberia
  • Noël Koutera Bataka, former Minister of Agriculture, Togo 

9:50-10:10am (EST)
3:50-4:10pm (CET)
 

Endorsements & Announcements by GAFSP donors

  • Honorable Alex Hawke, Minister for International Development and the Pacific, Australia
  • Bill Gates, Co-chair, Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Kitty van der Heijden, Director-General for International Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the Netherlands
  • Aksel Jakobsen, State Secretary of International Development , Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Norway
  • Honorable James Duddridge, Minister for Africa at the Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office (FCDO), United Kingdom 
  • Honorable Arancha González Laya, Minister of the Ministry for Foreign Affairs, European Union and Cooperation, Spain
10:10-10:15am (EST)
4:10-4:15pm (CET)
Closing Closing Remarks by Dr. Maria Flachsbarth, Parliamentary State Secretary to the Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
Back to Replenishment Page

Latest News