Skip to main content

Steering Committee

The ultimate decision-making body of the GAFSP is its Steering Committee, established in April 2010. The Steering Committee is comprised of Voting Members and Non-Voting Members. The current chair of the Steering Committee (from April 2022) is Canada. 

Voting members are limited to an equal number of major donors and recipient representatives. The recipient representatives, representing their respective regions and not their location countries, were selected in two meetings in April 2010 through a self-selection by World Bank Executive Directors representing at least one IDA country.

Non-voting members are representatives of potential Supervising Entities and civil society organizations (CSOs) (one drawn from an OECD country and two representing recipient regions). CSO representatives are selected through a self-selection process managed through their respective networks.


View Steering Committee Minutes

More About Our Structure

GAFSP is a Financial Intermediary Fund (FIF), hosted within the World Bank Group, and was set up to complement and reinforce other existing multilateral and bilateral efforts to tackle food insecurity.

The World Bank serves as Trustee as well as hosts a Coordination Unit (CU) within the Agriculture and Food Global Practice that provides support to GAFSP’s Steering Committee. The CU oversees overall Program operations, manages Program’s grants to countries, small scale grants, and coordinates with the IFC, which manages GAFSP’s private sector financing portfolio.

View Program Documents

Latest News